23 July 2019 11:49 AM

Egypt wins AEWA prize for sorting waterbirds

Tuesday، 04 September 2018 - 04:30 PM

The Egyptian Environmental Affairs Agency has been awarded an Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds (AEWA) prize, becoming the only government body to win acclaim in this regard after the Netherlands.

Environment Minister Yasmine Fouad, in a press conference on Tuesday 4/9/2018, offered the prize to President Abdel Fattah El Sisi.

She spoke highly of efforts exerted by the nature protection sector to sort and detect waterbirds across Egypt, including in Lake Nasser, Lake Borlos, Red Sea islands and the  River Nile.

Egypt is one of 114 countries signatory to AEWA, Fouad made it clear.

The minister also honored the working team at the nature protection sector for their efforts in sorting and detecting waterbirds from Aswan all the way up to Sinai.

AEWA is an intergovernmental treaty dedicated to the conservation of migratory waterbirds and their habitats across Africa, Europe, the Middle East, Central Asia, Greenland and the Canadian Archipelago.

Developed under the framework of the Convention on Migratory Species (CMS) and administered by the UN Environment Program (UNEP), AEWA brings together countries and the wider international conservation community in an effort to establish coordinated conservation and management of migratory waterbirds throughout their entire migratory range.

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To