24 October 2020 01:56 PM

Egypt’s Senate members take constitutional oath

Sunday، 18 October 2020 - 02:29 PM

Egypt’s Senate members took the constitutional oath on Sunday during the opening procedural session of the Upper House of parliament.

The opening session was held at the headquarters of the Shura Council in Downtown Cairo.

According to Egypt's amended constitution in 2019, a 300-seat Senate shall be elected, with 100 members to be elected via the individual candidacy system; another 100 through party lists; and the remaining 100 to be appointed by the president of the republic.

The first five-year term of the Senate will end in 2025. 

One-month-long Senate elections were concluded on 16 September. Pro-government Mostaqbal Watan (Future of Homeland) Party candidates won the majority (around 70 percent) of 200 open seats, followed by the People's Republican Party (six seats), Al-Wafd (six seats), and independents (six seats).

The political parties of El-Tagammu, the Congress, Modern Egypt, Reform and Development, Guardians of the Nation, the National Movement, and the Egyptian Social Democratic Party took the remaining seats.

The list of appointed members was announced on Saturday.

Ahram Online

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To