17 January 2021 07:55 AM

The 27th IHF Men's Handball World Championship

Friday، 08 January 2021 - 11:38 PM

Egypt is hosting the 27th IHF Men's Handball World Championship during the period from 13 to 31st January 2021 with the participation of 32 countries for the first time to become a global sport celebration on the land of Egypt, and the largest sport event in the world to be organized with public attendance since the beginning of the Corona pandemic, which represents a new challenge for the Egyptian as well as the international sports system showing the extent of the world's confidence in Egypt's capabilities to hold the championship on its land amid exceptional circumstances that are spreading through out the whole world.

On its behalf, Egypt - as usual - accepted the challenge and well prepared to host this world event.

The Logo of the Championship: It is a combination between the Pharaohs’ key of life and and a handball player who shoots. 

The Championship will start on January 13th with the opening match between the Egyptian national handball team and the Chilean national handball team, and it will end with the final match on January 31st.

The Stadiums of the 2021 IHF Men's Handball World Championship: The 2021 IHF Men's World Championship will be played in 4 halls in 4 stadiums in the governorates of Cairo, Giza and Alexandria and the New Capital. 

I- Cairo International Stadium Sports Hall, which was established in 1991, with a capacity of 17,000 spectators. It is the main hall in the Championship, which will host the opening match between Egypt and Chile as well as the final match. Also, during the preliminary round, the hall will host the matches of fourth and the seventh groups.

II- The New Capital Indoor Sports Hall, which was established in 2020 as part of the integrated Sports City in Egypt’s New Administrative Capital, which is 60 km from Cairo, with a capacity of 7,500 spectators. During the preliminary round, the hall will host the matches of the second and sixth groups. 

III- The 6th of October Indoor Sports Hall, which was established in 2020 with a capacity of 5200 spectators. The hall is only 36 km (22 miles) away from downtown Cairo, and is part of the historic Giza Governorate, home to the famed Great Pyramids of Giza. During the preliminary round, the hall will host the matches of the first and fifth groups. 

IV- Borg Al Arab Indoor Sports Hall, which was established in 2020 with a capacity of 4,500 spectators. The hall is 200 km (125 miles) from downtown Cairo. During the preliminary round, the hall will host the matches of the third and eighth groups

Match Scheme 
For the first time in history, 32 teams have been qualified for the 2021 World Handball Championship. They are divided into eight groups of four teams each. The teams will play in the preliminary round during the period from 13 to 19 January.

The top three teams of their respective preliminary round groups move on to the main round (20-25 January), while the teams ranked last in their preliminary round groups play the President's Cup. The 24 main round teams are divided into four groups of six teams each. 

The top two teams of the main round groups advance to the knock-out stage, which starts with the quarter-finals on 27 January, then continues with the semi-finals on 29 January. On the final day, 31 January, the match for third place and the gold-medal match are played.

Match Schedule 
-January 13, at 7:00 pm: Egypt - Chile 
-January 14, at 4.30 pm: Belarus - Russia 
-January 14, at 7:00 pm: Austria - USA
-January 14, at 7:00 pm: Algeria - Morocco
-January 14, at 7:00 pm: Slovenia - South Korea
-January 14, at 9:30 pm: Norway - France
-January 14, at 9:30 pm: Portugal - Iceland
-January 14, at 9:30 pm: Sweden - Czech Republic
-January 15, at 4:30 pm: Qatar - Angola
-January 15, at 7:00 pm: Croatia - Japan
-January 15, at 7:00 pm: Germany - Uruguay
-January 15, at 7:00 pm: Spain - Brazil
-January 15, at 7:00 pm: Argentina - DR Congo
-January 15, at 9:30 pm: Hungary - Cape Verde Islands
-January 15, at 9:30 pm: Tunisia - Poland
-January 15, at 9:30 pm: Denmark - Bahrain  
-January 16, at 4:30 pm: Belarus - South Korea
-January 16, at 7:00 pm: Austria - France
-January 16, at 7:00 pm: Morocco - Portugal
-January 16, at 7:00 pm: Egypt - Czech Republic
-January 16, at 7:00 pm: Russia - Slovenia
-January 16, at 9:30 pm: USA - Norway
-January 16, at 9:30 pm: Algeria - Iceland
-January 16, at 9:30 pm: Chile - Sweden  
-January 17, at 4:30 pm: Qatar - Japan
-January 17, at 7:00 pm: Cape Verde Islands - Germany
-January 17, at 7:00 pm: Tunisia - Brazil
-January 17, at 7:00 pm: Angola - Croatia
-January 17, at 7:00 pm: Argentina - Bahrain
-January 17, at 9:30 pm: Hungary - Uruguay
-January 17, at 9:30 pm: Poland - Spain
-January 17, at 9:30 pm: DR Congo - Denmark  
-January 18, at 4.30 pm: Czech Republic - Chile
-January 18, at 4:30 pm: South Korea - Russia
-January 18, at 7:00 pm: France - Austria
-January 18, at 7:00 pm: Portugal - Algeria
-January 18, at 7:00 pm: Sweden - Egypt
-January 18, at 7:00 pm: Slovenia - Belarus
-January 18, at 9:30 pm: Norway - Austria
-January 18, at 9:30 pm: Iceland - Morocco  
-January 19, at 4:30 pm: Japan - Angola
-January 19, at 7:00 pm: Uruguay - Cape Verde Islands
-January 19, at 7:00 pm: Spain - Tunisia
-January 19, at 7:00 pm: Croatia - Qatar
-January 19, at 7:00 pm: Bahrain - DR Congo
-January 19, at 9:30 pm: Germany - Hungary
-January 19, at 9:30 pm: Brazil - Poland
-January 19, at 9:30 pm: Denmark - Argentina 
-January 20-25: main round 
-January 27, at 6:30 pm: quarter-finals 1st Group II 2nd Group IV
-January 27, at 9:30 pm: quarter-finals 1st Group IV – 2nd Group II
-January 27, at 9:30 pm: quarter-finals 1st group I – 2nd group III
-January 27, at 9:30 pm: quarter-finals 1st Group III – 2nd Group I 
-January 29, at 6:30 pm: Semi-final Winner 1st quarter-final – Winner 2nd quarter-final
-January 29, at 9:30 pm: Semi-final Winner 3rd quarter-final – Winner 4th quarter-final 
-January 31, at 3:30 pm: Play for 3rd place
-January 31, at 6.30 pm: Final 

Group A: Germany, Hungary, Uruguay, Cape Cape Verde 
Group B: Spain, Tunisia, Brazil, Poland  
Group C: Croatia, Qatar, Japan, Angola  
Group D: Denmark, Argentina, Bahrain, DR Congo  
Group E: Norway, Austria, France, NCAHC  
Group F: Portugal, Algeria, Iceland, Morocco  
Group G: Sweden, Egypt, Czech Republic, SCAHC  
Group H: Slovenia, Belarus, South Korea, Russia 
The Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT)

1. Providing the stadiums, in which the tournament will be held, with the necessary equipment, technical requirements, communication and information technology services, in line with international standards.

2. Providing the necessary technology to host the tournament.

3. Reviewing all engineering arrangements to prepare communication networks for the new halls that are being built in accordance with the international standards of the International Federation.

4. Reviewing all the needs of the International Handball Federation and the Organizing Committee regarding devices, equipment, internet equipment, and communications infrastructure.

5. Equipping the stadiums with the latest global technologies, equipping press centers with computers, laptops, internet networks, and all logistical supplies including modern printers, copiers and screens with virtual display activities.

6. Providing wireless units distributed to the four halls equipped with a Wi-Fi network, in addition to providing Wi-Fi devices to provide internet services through 4G networks.

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To