07 February 2023 06:47 AM

The East African Community (EAC)

Sunday، 27 November 2022 - 12:55 PM

The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organisation of the Republics of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Republic of Rwanda and Republic of Burundi with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The Treaty for Establishment of the East African Community was signed on 30 November 1999 and entered into force on 7 July 2000 following its ratification by the original three Partner States – Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. The Republic of Rwanda and the Republic of Burundi acceded to the EAC Treaty on 18 June 2007 and became full Members of the Community with effect from 1 July 2007.

Mission and Vision

The Vision of EAC is a prosperous, competitive, secure, stable and politically united East Africa; and the Mission is to widen and deepen Economic, Political, Social and Culture integration in order to improve the quality of life of the people of East Africa through increased competitiveness, value added production, trade and investments.

The EAC's core values are:

• Professionalism

• Accountability

• Transparency

• Teamwork

• Unity in Diversity

• Allegiance to EAC ideals

Aims and Objectives

The EAC aims at widening and deepening co-operation among the Partner States in, among others, political, economic and social fields for their mutual benefit. To this extent the EAC countries established a Customs Union in 2005 and are working towards the establishment of a Common Market in 2010, subsequently a Monetary Union by 2012 and ultimately a Political Federation of the East African States.

Enlargement of the Community

The realisation of a large regional economic bloc encompassing Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda with a combined population of more than 125 million people, land area of 1.82 million sq kilometres and a combined Gross Domestic Product of $73 billion (2009*), bears great strategic and geopolitical significance and prospects of a renewed and reinvigorated East African Community.

EAC Developing Strategic Partnerships

It is recognised that regional integration and development in East Africa will require the mobilisation of vast resources, both within and outside the region. Despite its enormous potential, the region alone cannot raise effective levels of resources to meet the very huge and highly capital-intensive investments required. This is why there is need to co-operate with all like-minded organisations and countries.

Over the years, EAC has laid a strong foundation for strategic partnership with the rest of the world and benefited from technical and financial assistance from a large number of international aid and development agencies, including World Bank, European Union, European Investment Bank, African Development Bank, Swedish International Development Co-operation Agency (SIDA), United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, German Agency for Technical Co-operation (GTZ), East African Development Bank, United Kingdom Department for International Development (DFID), Norwegian Agency for Development (NORAD), Commonwealth Secretariat and Danish International Development Agency (DANIDA).

Other development partners with whom EAC expects to enter into co-operation programmes or have entered into Memoranda of Understanding with include France, India, Finland, Canada, Sweden, Norway, International Labour Organisation, UN Food and Agriculture Organisation, Austrian Development Co-operation and the World Meteorological Organization.

A number of major EAC – Development Partners Consultative meetings have been held to explore new areas of co-operation and to deepen those in which co-operation is ongoing. The first major meeting with the Development Partners was held in May 1998 on the East African Road Network Project. The meeting resulted in an agreement on five key Trunk Roads (Corridors) linking the three States, for priority development. The donors indicated an initial sum of US$1 billion.

The second EAC – Development Partners meeting was held in September 2001, in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. The aim of this meeting was to brief the Development Partners on the progress made in the regional integration process, particularly in the co-operating sectors. The meeting was a success and the development partners indicated their continued support to the Community at a regional level and to the constituent Partner States at the national level.

The third meeting, the East African Roads’ Development Partners Consultative Meeting was held in Arusha in April 2003. The Meeting realised renewed pledges of support to the East African Road Network Project with the World Bank confirming availability of US$ 400-500 million for the next three years and European Union Euros 375 million over the 5-year period

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To