27 May 2024 10:50 AM

Local Administration

Kafr El-Sheikh Governorate

Monday، 01 May 2023 - 06:32 PM

Kafr El-Sheikh Governorate is one of the largest governorates in the Delta region in terms of area.

It was named after the mystic Sidi El-Sheikh Talha Abi Said. The governorate is known for its agricultural production, including rice, beets, wheat, and cotton. It also has a variety of tourist attractions, such as the Balteem resort, Lake Burullus, and the Desouk Park. The Religious tourism, such as the mosque of Sidi Talha Abi Said al-Tlemsani, the mosque of Sidi Ibrahim al-Desouki, and the Church of the Virgin Mary.

The governorate contains several historical landmarks, such as the Tel Sakha area, Tel El-Faraein, and Kom Al-Ouman and Kom Al-Khabira areas. The Tel Sakha area includes the remains of the ancient city of Egypt, which was the capital of the sixth province of the Delta region.

Kafr El-Sheikh Landmarks:

Kafr El-Sheikh Governorate include a number of ancient and modern monuments that date back to different historical periods throughout the ages. Some examples:

Sakha Hills

One of the important landmarks in Kafr El-Sheikh Governorate is the area of Sakha Hills, which contains the ancient ruins of the capital of the sixth province in the Delta region of Egypt. Other nearby archaeological sites include Kafr Metboul, Batita, Nasabrah, and Sandala. The area also includes the Virgin Mary Church, dating back to the fourth century AD and visited by the Holy Family. Additionally, there are many medicinal baths and granite statues in the Sakha Hills area. 

Tel El Faraein ( Ibthou)

Another significant landmark is Tel Ibthou, also known as the Pharaohs' Hill. It is one of the oldest and most important archaeological sites in the northern region, located 19 kilometers east of Fowa City and covering an area of approximately 172 acres. This area was the location of Egypt's first capital during the reign of King Menes in ancient Egyptian history.
Village of Arimon

The village of Arimon is also an important archaeological site. It was the headquarters of the god Amun and was one of the largest villages in the Kafr El-Sheikh center, representing the second-highest status after the ancient village of Sakha. Originally called Didmon, the name evolved over time to its current name.


Kafr El-Sheikh Governorate is located in the northernmost part of the republic, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with a coastal stretch of 100 kilometers. It is bordered to the west by the Rashid Branch, which extends for 85 kilometers until it flows into the Mediterranean Sea, and to the east by Dakahlia Governorate, and to the south by Gharbia Governorate. 


The area of Kafr El-Sheikh Governorate is 3,466.7 square kilometers.

Kafr El-Sheikh Governorate is 3,655,095 according to statistics from the Central Agency for Public Mobilization and Statistics as of May 26th, 2022.

5- Kafr El-Sheikh Map

6- The Governor:

Major General Gamal Nour El Deen


The emblem of Kafr El-Sheikh Governorate is a Pharaonic boat with three interlocking rings drawn on its sail, surrounded by two ears of wheat, and the boat is swimming in a blue sea with three winding lines indicating the coastal environment of the governorate. The lines refer to the three bodies of water in the governorate, which are the Mediterranean Sea, Lake Burullus, and the Nile River. The rings indicate the cooperative system, and the ears of wheat indicate the governorate's fame in producing rice.

8-National Day:

Kafr El-Sheikh Governorate celebrates its national day on November 4th of each year, in commemoration of the victory of the Battle of El-Burj naval battle against the tripartite aggression in 1956, when the Egyptian navy defeated the French and destroyed the French ship "Jean Bart" with the participation of the people of the governorate, after a decisive naval battle in the Mediterranean Sea, off the coast of Lake Burullus, when French warships and British destroyers supported by warplanes attacked the Egyptian beaches.

9- Administrative divisions of the governorate:

The Kafr El-Sheikh Governorate is divided into 10 centers and 11 cities. The governorate includes 44 rural local units, 162 villages, and 1625 Kafr and settlements.

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To