26 May 2024 07:11 PM

Local Administration

Red Sea Governorate

Friday، 05 May 2023 - 11:06 PM

The Red Sea Governorate is one of Egypt's border governorates, with its capital Hurghada. The strategic importance of the governorate lies in its extension along the Red Sea coast and into the Eastern Desert until the Nile Valley, which makes it strategically important for Egypt's national. It also serves as a gateway for exports and imports to the Northern governorates. 

The governorate is considered one of the most important in Egypt in terms of mineral wealth, as it contains the majority of metallic and non-metallic substances and precious stones.

1-The most important landmarks of the Red Sea Governorate:

 "El-Quseir" city:

The city, which was used by Queen Hatshepsut during her exploratory trip to Punt. As well as in the Pharaonic era for gold mining, but it is now a recreational city with beautiful beaches and coral reefs. It also contains archaeological remains from different eras.

"St. Anthony's Monastery"

"St. Anthony's Monastery" located on the northern slope of Mount Galala in the Eastern desert near Zaafarana. It is the first monastery built in the world and named after St. Anthony, who is considered the father of monks Egypt. The monastery contains seven churches, including the oldest building in the monastery, the church of St. Anthony.

The Monastery of Anba Anthony contains 7 churches, including the Church of Monk Anthony, the oldest building of the monastery. It includes 75 domes, some of which belong to the fourth century, and 3 walls dating back to different ancient times. It contains a holy well, a museum, a great sculpture of Anba Anthony, and an icon of Christ.

"Monastery of Anba Paula"

It was founded in the 6th century A.D. by lovers of Anba Paula, the first to escape from the persecution of the Church, and Anba Paula went to the desert and lived in it, and no one knows how he lived and adapted in the desert. 

"Samadai Reef"
"Samadai Reef" located in Marsa Alam, also known as "Dolphin House". The reef is home to more than 5000 dolphins and beautiful coral reefs.

"Mons Claudianus City"

 "Mons Claudianus City" located in Hurghada, it is a Roman city that contains remains of walls, columns, and red marble used by the Pharaohs and Romans.

"Wadi El-Hammamat"

"Wadi El-Hammamat" is an ancient road between the Eastern Desert mountains, where ancient Egyptians used to travel. It contains remains of ancient workers' huts and inscriptions in hieroglyphics.

It is a river road that dried up and became a narrow, winding frequented by the ancient Egyptians. It is located between the mountains of the eastern desert. In the valley, the remains of the ancient Egyptian workers’ huts can be seen, which are dating back to the era of the Fifth Dynasty.

2- Location:

It is one of the largest governorates in Egypt, with all its cities and villages overlooking the Red Sea coast for a length of 1080 km. It is bordered by the Suez Governorate and Giza to the north, the Red Sea coast to the east, the Sudanese border to the south, and the governorates of Bani Suef, Minya, Asyut, Sohag, Qena, and Aswan to the west.

3- Area:

119,000 km², which is about 1/8 of Egypt's total area.

4- Population:

The population of the Red Sea Governorate is 396,040 according to the latest census released by the Central Agency for Public Mobilization and Statistics (CAPMAS) on May 29, 2022.

5- Map of the Governorate:

6- Governor:

Major General Amr Mohamed Hanafy El-Ahmar.

7- Emblem:
The emblem of the Red Sea Governorate features a mermaid, which is the official symbol of the governorate. The blue color in the emblem represents the sea.

8- National Day:

The governorate celebrates its national day on January 22 every year, which marks the anniversary of the Battle of Shadwan on January 22, 1970. The island witnessed a popular epic during the attrition war, where the people of the governorate supported their armed forces in defeating the hostile aggression on the island by providing them with all means and maritime support.

9- Administrative divisions:

7 Cities
2 Districts 
13 main Villages 
35 affiliated villages 

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To