14 April 2024 12:40 AM

Republic of Mali

Monday، 20 July 2009 - 12:00 AM

Country name: Republic of Mali

Government Type: Republic

 Independence: September 22, 1960 (from France)

Capital: Bamako

Main Towns: Kyes-Tombouctu-Kidal-Gao-Segou

Geographic Location: Mali is a landlocked country and lies in west Africa, neighboring Algeria from north, Guinea and Cote d’Ivoire from south, Mauritania and Senegal from west and Niger and Burkina Faso from east.

Geographic Area:1,240,000 km2.

 Population:12,325,029 (July 2007 est.)

Ethnic groups: Mande-Bambara-Malinke-Soninke – Peul- Songhai

Languages: French (official) – Bambara

Historical glimpse: The formerly made up Sudanese Republic was renamed Mali. The first, who ruled Mali directly after independence in 1960, was the President Modibo Keita and the current head of state is the President Amadou Toumani Toure, since (June 8, 2002).

 Economy: Economy activity is confined to the  riverine area of river Niger. About 10% of the population is nomadic and some 80% work in farming.

 GDP: $ 14.18 billion (2007 est.)

GDP (real growth rate): 4.3% (2007 est.)

Agricultural Products: Cotton- rice-corn-vegetables and cattle.

Industries: Food processing – phosphate and gold mining.

Currency: African franc.

Reg. Org Membership: ACP - AU - ECOWAS – OIC - OIF

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To