25 April 2024 12:40 AM

Republic of Namibia

Monday، 20 July 2009 - 12:00 AM

Country name : Republic of Namibia

Government Type : Republic

Independence : March 21,1990. (from South African mandate)

Capital : Windhoek

Main Towns : Rundu-Rehoboth-Mariental

Geographic Location : Namibia lies in the southern part of Africa, bordering Angola from north, zambia from northeast, South Africa from east and it overlooks the Atlantic Ocean from west.

Geographic Area : 825,418 km2

Population : 2,088,669 (July 2007 est.)

Ethnic groups : Ovambo-Kavangos-Herero-Damara-Nama

Languages : English (official) Oshivambo-Herero-Nama

Historical glimpse : It was not until 1988 that South Africa agreed to end it’s administration in Namibia and general election was held in the region to choose their representatives in Nov. 1989, then on 16 Feb. of the same year the leader of SWAPO Sam Ngoma became the first president. The head of state now, is President Hifikepunye Pohamba, assuming office on March 21, 2005.

Economy : The economy is heavily dependent on the extraction of minirals for export

GDP : $ 10.67 billion (2007 est.)

GDP (real growth rate) : 4.5 % (2007 est.)

Agricultural Products : Millet-sorghum-peanuts-grapes-livestock and fish

Industries : Fish processing-dairy products-mining (diamond, Lead, Zinc,..)

Currency : Namibian Dollar

Reg, Org. Membership : ACP-AU-SADC-SACU

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To