18 April 2024 10:36 PM

Republic of Niger

Monday، 20 July 2009 - 12:00 AM

Country name : Republic of Niger

 Government Type : Republic

Independence : August 3, 1960 (from France)

Capital : Niamey

Main Towns : Maradi-Zinder-Agadez

Geographic Location : Niger is one of the Landlocked west African Countries, bordering Algeria and Libya from the north, Benin and Nigeria from the south, Burkina Faso and Mali from the west.

Population : 13,272,679 (July 2007 est.)

Ethnic groups : Haoussa, Djerma Sonrai, Tuareg, Peuhl, Kanouri Manga

Languages : French (official) – Hausa-Djerma

Historical glimpse : Niger became independent in Aug. 1960 under the presidency of the Hamani Deore. The current of head of state is the President Mamadou Tangdja who assumed office in 1999.

Economy : Niger’s economy centers on subsistence crops, livestock, and some of the world’s largest uranium deposits.

GDP : $ 8.998 billion (2007 est.)

GDP (real growth rate) : 4.5% (2007 est.)

Agricultural Products : Cotton-peanuts-rice and cattle-camels-poultry

Industries : Uranium mining-cement-brick-soap-textiles

Currency : African Franc

Reg, Org. Membership : ACP-AU-ECOWAS-OIC-OIF

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To