24 April 2024 11:55 PM

Federal Republic of Nigeria

Monday، 20 July 2009 - 12:00 AM

Country name: Federal Republic of Nigeria

Government Type: Federal republic

Independence: October 10, 1960 (From UK)

Capital: Abuja

Main Towns: Katsina-Calabar-Lagos-Kaduna-Enugu

Geographic Location: Nigeria is one of west African region, neighboring Benin from west, Niger from north, both Chad and Cameroon from east and Gulf of Guinea from south.

Geographic Area: 923,768 km2km

Population: 138,283, 240 (July 2007 est.)

Ethnic groups: Hausa-Fulani-Yoruba-Igbo (Ibo) – Kanuri.

Languages: English (official)-Hausa-Yoruba-Igbo-Fulani

Historical glimpse: Nigeria became independent in 1960 and Abu Bakr Tafawa Balewa was elected as first President. The current head of state is President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, since (May 29, 2007).

Economy: Nigeria’s oil-richness provides 20% of GDP, 95% of foreign exchange earnings and about 80% of budget.

GDP: $ 294.8 billion (2007est.)

GDP (real growth rate): 6.3 % (2007est.)

Agricultural Products: Cocoa-corn-rice-yam-rubber-cattle-fish.

Industries: Crude oil-coal-cotton-rubber-textiles-cement.

Currency: Naira

Reg. Org Membership: ACP-AU-ECOWAS-OIC

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To