17 May 2021 06:06 AM

Local Administration

Menia Governorate

Tuesday، 19 April 2016 - 12:00 AM

Menia is North Upper Egypt region's governorate that encompasses Fayoum, Menia, and Bani Sweif. It is one of the governorates that characterized by its rural style and is renowned for being the bride of Upper Egypt.

The governorate took steps towards expansion into the desert and established new urban communities such as New Menia City and is expected to achieve human and economic development (urban, agricultural, and tourist).

Menia is classified as an agricultural governorate with estimated cultivated areas of 504.25 thousand feddans. Cotton, wheat, onion, and sugar cane are the major crops.

Besides, the governorate has made major strides in industry, particularly in food processing, spinning and weaving and chemicals industries, in addition to the establishment of an industrial zone in the East of the Nile, small-scale industries, and environment-friendly services centers.

Menia governorate is held an eternal record of all dynasties and monuments in Egypt that represent the Pharaonic, the Coptic, and the Islamic eras. Mosques of el-Latty, el-Amrawy "el-wadaa", el-Masry, el-Fouly and Zawyet Sultan, also Tahna el-Gibal, Antar Stable which embraces Hatshepsut Temple, Tal el-Amarna and the Tilting Minaret are the most important highlights in the governorate.

Location: Menia governorate lies on the two sides of the River Nile. It is bordered in the North by Bani Swaif, in the South by Assiut, in the East by the Red Sea governorate, and in the West by 6th Octobar.

The Governorate's national day: 18th March commemorating the resistance of Dayr Muas people against the British occupation in 1919.

Emblem: It shows the head of Queen Nefertiti, the wife of Egypt's Pharaoh King Ikhnaton who introduced the monotheistic worship of ATEN and called for love and peace among people. He also built Akhetaton city which means the sun horizon.

Total area: 32279.00 Km2.

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To