18 August 2022 02:59 AM

Local Administration

South Sinai Governorate

Tuesday، 19 April 2016 - 12:00 AM

South Sinai Governorate is considered one of the most fascinating and spectacular tourist areas in Egypt. Allah endows it with the charming nature where it embraces mountains, plains, valleys and beautiful beaches, as well as Red sea water where coral reefs, rare fish and beautiful nature are portrayed.



National Day:

South Sinai Governorate celebrates its National Day on March 19, commemorating the day of raising the Egyptian flag over Taba in 1989.


The emblem is overwhelmed by the golden yellow color which symbolizes the sun disk and golden rays overlying the land of the Governorate throughout the year. The blue colour symbolizes the waters of the Red Sea in addition to Suez and Aqaba Gulfs. Whereas the green colour is represented by the olive branch as the symbol of peace.


South Sinai Governorate lies in the southern half of Sinai Peninsula. It is shaped like a triangle, where Bair Taba represents its northern base that extends from the east on Aqaba Gulf to the west on Ras Masala, Suez Gulf. The two sides of the triangle stretch across Aqaba and Suez Gulfs and meet together at Ras Muhammad in the south.


South Sinai Governorate features mild summer and warm winter climate. The temperatures range from 15° C in January to 30° C in August, with the exception of St. Catherine city where the temperatures range between 6° C and 23° C.


The total area of the Governorate reaches 31,272 km2, representing about 3.1% of Egypt's total area.


In March 2016 census, the population was estimated at about 169,822.

Administrative Division:

South Sinai is divided into five administrative regions or Markazes and nine cities comprising 13 local units. They are Abu Rudeis, including the city of Abu Rudeis, Abu Zenima, including the city of Abu Zenima, Nuweiba, including Nuweiba and Taba cities, Ras Sidr, including Ras Sidr city, and Sharm el-Sheikh, including Dahab, St Catherine, Tor Sinai and Sharm el-Sheikh cities. Nuweiba Markaz has the greatest area of all, followed by Abu Rudeis.

Agricultural Activity:

The cultivated lands reach about 14,000 feddans, which rely on rainwater for irrigation. The Governorate is famous for the cultivation of palm and olive trees. One of the most important agricultural villages is Ferran, which is known for a long time of the cultivation of fruit and olive trees, as it possesses many springs and wells.

Industrial Activity:

South Sinai produces 30% of Egypt's production of oil, in addition to manganese ore, glass sand, gypsum, choline and granitic rocks. Abu Zenima is the most important industrial area in South Sinai, which includes an industrial complex, ferromanganese and gypsum plants, and factories for extraction and processing turquoise stone, etc. where they depend on quarrying areas of Sharm el-Sheikh, St. Catherine and Abu Rudeis.


In the academic year 2013/2014, the number of schools reaches 253, 8 technical schools, in addition to 108 Azharite institutes for pre-university education, and a number of private schools.


There is one Ministry of Health hospital, 3 kidney dialysis centers, 7 public and central hospitals, and five private hospitals. Moreover, the governorate  includes 9 health offices in Abu Rudeis, Abu Zenima, Dahab, Ras Sidr, St Catherine, Sharm el Sheikh, Tor Sinai and Nuweiba.


South Sinai Governorate includes 8 houses and palaces of culture, 12 public libraries, 5 cinemas, and 2 theaters, in addition to Taba and Sharm el-Sheikh archeological Museums.

Youth and Sports:

South Sinai encompasses 24 youth centers, 9 sports clubs, in addition to el-Tor Sports Stadium.

Monuments and Tourism:

South Sinai is considered a global hub for all types of tourism, where it hosts all climatic, natural, land and maritime factors. This enhances all types of tourism, particularly the recreational tourism such as coastal tourism, diving, and water sports on the Gulf of Aqaba, in addition to therapeutic tourism and herbal therapy. Furthermore, South Sinai is viable for festivals and races, salient of which is camel racing and related folk carnivals. South Sinai cities are becoming increasingly important due to conferences held especially in Sharm el-Sheikh, which hosts many international conferences.

Tourist Areas:

Most important tourist areas are concentrated in the Golden Triangle; Sharm El Sheikh, Nuweiba and Dahab. South Sinai includes St. Catherine's Monastery which hosts the Library, the Great Church, the Icons library, the Holy Family Tree, EI-Mawta church “the Church of the dead”, the Mosque of al-Hakim Bi Amr-Allah, and other buildings of the Monastery. Additionally, the Governorate encompasses Mount Sinai, and the five-peak Mount Serbal that embraces in its center an old monastery, a church and the Hermit Caves. Moreover, South Sinai hosts the famous turquoise mountains, Pharaoh Bath, Moses Bath, el-Maghara Valley, the Temple of Sarabit al-Khadem, Naama Bay, the Pharaoh's Island, Tiran Island, el-Qersh Gulf and the Monastery of the Seven Girls.

Natural Reserves:

Ras Mohammed Park:

Ras Mohammed has been announced a natural reserve in 1983, with an area of 850 km2. It is 446-km far from Cairo, and lies at the confluence of Suez and Aqaba Gulfs. It is characterized by the coral shores and reefs, and is home to many important birds and animals such as: Nubian mountain ibex, small mammals, reptiles and insects.

St. Catherine Reserve:

St. Catherine region has been announced a natural reserve in 1988. It has an area of 5750 km2, at a distance of 550 km from Cairo. It is characterized by the highest mountain tops in Egypt, where it became the attraction of tourists from all over the world for it has abundant natural wealth and cultural heritage. It has a natural habitat for several biological plants and animals.

Nabq Reserve:

Nabq has been announced a natural reserve in 1992. It has an area of 600 km2, at a distance of 500 km from Cairo. It is characterized by the coral reefs, sea and wildlife creatures, and high density mangrove forests. It includes animals such as deer, ibex, hyena, reptiles and many migratory and resident birds.

Abu Galoum Reserve:

Abu Galoum has been announced a natural reserve in 1992. It has an area of 500 km2, at a distance of 600 km from Cairo. It includes various environmental systems of coral reefs, sea creatures, and sea herbs. The mountains and valleys are abundant of wild animals, birds and plants, making it a tourist attraction for the amateurs of diving, safari as well as bird and animal watching.

Taba Reserve:

Taba has been announced a natural reserve in 1998. It has an area of 3595 km2, at a distance of 550 km from Cairo. It is characterized by its distinguished geological formations, archaeological sites, rare wildlife, magnificent landscapes, and the traditional heritage of resident Bedouin. It contains important flora such as acacia, as well as fauna such as hyrax, Nubian ibex, wolf, hyena, deer and others. There are some wild birds such as the Egyptian vulture, the bearded and the golden eagles on the top of mountains.

Related Stories

Most Visited

From To